The Woman on the Pier by B.P. Walter

Updated: Aug 21



Psychological Thriller | Mystery | Fiction




"I've remembered. I've remembered everything. And now I know who you are. You're the reason Jessica is dead."


This was a book I purchased without even looking at the synopsis. I read Walter's other book, The Dinner Guest, last year and I absolutely loved it. Naturally, the expectations were very high as I could not fault Walter's other book. I'm pleased to write that I am not disappointed with this book. Once again, Walter blew me away.


This was a book that I simply did not want to end. The whole plot and direction of the story were very thoughtfully executed. There were certain characters, such as Alec, that I loathed with a burning passion. I think that reflects the talent in Walter's writing which is stirring up such hatred for a fictional character. I don't know if it's just me but toxic spouses seem to be popping up everywhere in thriller fiction. I genuinely wanted the main character, Caroline to stay far away from that guy.


To say that this book is the ultimate page-turner does not do it justice. This book has genuinely been one of my favourite reads so far in January. I'm so excited to see what else I'll read this year but I think The Woman on the Pier, will stay fresh in my mind for a long time. The story was engaging, heartbreaking, and a truly brilliant piece of thriller fiction. If you also enjoyed The Dinner Guest, I would highly recommend you check out this book. I was hooked until the very last page - there was not a single dull moment. The book community needs to pay attention to B.P. Walter. I cannot wait to read more of his work in the future!


This book is perfect for fans of Janice Hallett, Riley Sager, Lucy Foley and many more.


#thewomanonthepier #thrillerfiction #bookreview


 

Synopsis


Caroline Byrne can't move on. She can't understand why her daughter died. Jessica was killed in a terrorist attack in Stratford when she was supposed to be at a friend's house in Somerset.


But then Caroline finds the phone. She sees the texts Jessica sent to a boy called Michael. They were planning on meeting up in Stratford. He never turned up.


Michael is the reason she's dead. Caroline is determined to make him aware of the consequences.






 

Author's Info





Happy Reading!


(Photograph from my Instagram @readwithmims & @jemima_reads)




27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All